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RE:  Regulation of Tanning Facilities 
 
Dear Tanning Facility Operator: 
 
The Chautauqua County Board of Health has adopted the New York State Public Health Law Article 35-A, Sub 
Part 72-1 (Tanning Facilities). The purpose of this law is to establish standards for safe operation and sanitary 
conditions of tanning facilities. The law requires each tanning facility in the County to be permitted and inspected 
every two years.  
 
To protect health and minimize risks associated with indoor tanning, businesses with indoor tanning facilities are 
now subject to the following requirements: 
 -Operators must obtain and post operating permits. 

-Operators must take steps to ensure that children under age 17 do not use indoor tanning facilities. 
-Operators must ensure that children between the ages of 17 to 18 have signed (in person) parental consent 
prior to the children using the facilities. 
-Persons 18 and over must be provided information on the dangers of indoor tanning, must sign statements 
indicating they are aware of the hazards associated with indoor tanning, and receive adequate instruction in 
the operation and use of tanning devices. 
-Operators must ensure that every patron has adequate protective eyewear for use with ultraviolet (UV) 
tanning devices.  For patrons without such eyewear, the operator must provide a set of protective eyewear 
at no additional charge. 
-Operators must ensure that all UV devices are adequately labeled, operated in accordance with 
manufacturers and federal Food and Drug Administration instructions, and properly maintained. 
 

Public health hazards:  Any of the following violations are public health hazards, which require immediate 
correction or removal of unit from service.   

(1) The condition of the wiring or electrical system components of tanning equipment is such that an 
imminent fire or shock hazard exists; 
(2) An ultraviolet radiation device does not have an adequate label; 
(3) Failure to operate an ultraviolet radiation device in accordance with the label; 
(4) Failure to assure and maintain the accuracy of ultraviolet radiation device timers; 
(5) Failure to ensure that patrons possess adequate protective eyewear; 
(6) Failure to provide adequate protective eyewear at no additional charge to patrons not possessing their 
own adequate protective eyewear; 
(7) Inadequate sanitizing of tanning beds, tanning booths, pillows, headrests or reusable protective 
eyewear; 
(8) Failure to provide timer lockout or remote timer controls; or 
(9) Any other condition determined by the PIO to be an imminent risk to the public's health. 
 

The Board of Health has established fees for 2-year permits as follows:  Base permit fee of $30.00 with a  
$50.00 inspection fee for the first Ultraviolet (UV) device per licensing period, and $25.00 for each     
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additional UV device. The projected inspection frequency is once per 2-year permit period, with re-inspections as 
needed, and complaint investigations as required.  
 
Enclosed is a permit application, fee schedule, and instructions. 
 
You may access the New York State Department of Health Website at  www.nyhealth.gov/permits                      for 
more information, and forms you may need, such as Parental Consent Form, Injury & Illness Report Form, etc.   
 
Please send the application to the address on the reverse side along with your check or money order made payable 
to the Chautauqua County Director of Finance.  If you wish to pay by credit/debit card, the attached slip must be 
filled out completely, and you must include a 2.5% transaction fee to the total transaction.  Incomplete 
applications will be returned for your completion and may delay the issuing of your permit.  These fees are 
non-refundable.  YOU MUST PROVIDE AN EMAIL ADDRESS ON YOUR APPLICATION, IN ORDER 
TO RECEIVE A COPY OF YOUR INSPECTION REPORT. 
 
Along with your application, if you have employees you are required to submit proof of workers' compensation and 
disability insurance.  You must submit the appropriate insurance certificates listed on your application.  
Under New York State labor law these certificates are a pre-requisite to issue a permit to operate.  PLEASE 
NOTE:  WE NEED A C-105.2 AND A DB-120.1. WE CANNOT ACCEPT A C-105 AND DB-120.  To obtain 
these certificates, contact your insurance carrier. 
   
If you do not have employees you must obtain a Certificate of Attestation of Exemption Form CE-200 from the 
New York State Workers' Compensation Board stating that you do not have any employees and, therefore, do not 
need insurance.  You must apply online at  businessexpress.ny.gov to obtain the CE-200.  Follow site 
directions to print a copy of your certificate to provide to us.  Be sure to sign and date form.  
 
If we do not receive the appropriate forms listed on your application, we are unable to issue a permit for 
your facility. 
 
Your cooperation in this matter is greatly appreciated.  Should you have any questions or comments, please do not 
hesitate to contact this Department at (7l6) 753-4693. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
Chautauqua County Department of Health and Human Services 
Environmental Health Unit 



SECTION A: Facility Information

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

Application Instructions STATE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

Bureau of Community Environmental Health and Food Protection

Complete all items that apply to your establishment.
All applicants must complete sections A, B, G, & H. If you have any questions, contact the local health department that
issues your permit.

Facility Name, Facility Address, Telephone Number, Fax Number and Municipality: Self explanatory
Capacity

A. Food services: enter actual seating capacity, or enter 00 for take out only.
B. Recreational vehicle parks, campsites, agricultural fairgrounds and mobile home parks: enter the number of actual sites.
C. Children’s camp: enter the maximum number of campers the camp is approved for at one time.
D. Temporary residences and migrant farmworker labor camps, swimming pools, bathing beaches, mass gatherings: enter the

maximum number of people the facility is approved to hold.
E. Recreational aquatic spray ground: enter 00.
F. Tanning Facility: enter the total number of tanning devices.

Facility Status: Check either profit or nonprofit.  If nonprofit, submission of documentation (incorporation paper) verifying
status may be required.

Facility Type: From the list below enter the facility type that best describes the main or primary operation of the facility.
Some multiple operation facilities may require submission of separate permit application(s).  Please consult the health
department that issues your permit with any questions.

Facility Types:

Agricultural Fairgrounds Mass Gathering Temporary Residences

Bathing Beaches Migrant Farm Worker Housing  Labor Camps other than Migrant

 Freshwater River    Farm Labor Housing  Interior Corridor – Single Story

 Impoundment/Pond Mobile Home Parks  Interior Corridor – Two Story

 Lake Mobile Food  Interior Corridor – Three Story

 Ocean Surf Recreational Aquatic Spray Grounds  Interior Corridor – Four or more Story

 Other Saltwater  Indoor  Exterior Corridor – Single Story

Campground/Recreational Vehicle Park    Outdoor  Exterior Corridor – Two Story

Children’s Camps Swimming Pools  Exterior Corridor – Three Story

 Day Camp  Indoor  Exterior Corridor – Four or more Story

 Day Camp – Developmentally Disabled  Outdoor  Cabin or Bungalow Colony

 Day Camp – Municipal  Indoor/Outdoor Vending Food Machines

 Day Camp – Traveling  Wave Pool – Indoor State Agency Licensed Facilities

 Overnight Camp  Wave Pool – Outdoor  State Licensed Inspected Facility

 Overnight Camp – Developmentally Disabled  Wave Pool – Indoor/Outdoor  State Owned Operated Facility

 Overnight Camp - Municipal  Aquatic Amusement – Indoor  Day Care Center – Residential

Food Service Establishment  Aquatic Amusement – Outdoor  Day Care Center – Non-Residential

 Restaurant  Aquatic Amusement – Indoor/Outdoor

 Caterer  Spa

 School Tanning Facility

 Institution Temporary Food

 State Office for the Aging (SOFA) – Prep Site

 State Office for the Aging (SOFA) – Satellite Site

 Summer Feeding Program (USDA) – Prep Site

 Summer Feeding Program (USDA) – Satellite Site
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SECTION C: Complete only for temporary food service establishments, regulated under Subpart 14-2 NYSSC

SECTION D: Complete only for mobile food service vehicles or pushcarts, regulated under Subpart 14-4 NYSSC

SECTION E: Complete only for food/beverage vending machines, regulated under Subpart 14-5 NYSSC

SECTION F: Partners and Corporation Officers

SECTION G: Workers' Compensation and Disability Insurance

SECTION H: Signature

SECTION B: Operator/Owner Information

Water Supply/Sewage System: Check “public” if the facility is serviced by a municipal or public system.  Check “private” (onsite) if the
system(s) and its operation is onsite and only for this facility.  A water/sewage system that is commonly used by several establishments
(i.e.: a mall operation) would be a public system.

Operations under this registration: Provide the number of specific operations that apply to this registration.  Complete even if the
primary or main operation of the facility was identified under the facility type.  A swimming complex with one spa, one beach, one indoor
and two outdoor pools would report a facility type swimming pool-indoor and enter 1 for spa, 1 for bathing beach, 1 for indoor pool and 2
for outdoor pools in the operations under this registration Section A.  For tanning facilities enter the number of beds and booths. Some
facilities with multiple operations require separate applications, (i.e., a food service operated at a swimming pool complex would require a
separate swimming pool and food service application, and would report their specific operations on the appropriate application forms).

Expected Opening/Closing Date: Enter the expected opening and closing dates (i.e., June 1 is 06/01).  If the operation is year-round,
enter 01/01 for opening and 12/31 for closing.

Days of Operation: Check each box for the day(s) the facility will be open under routine operation.

Hours of Operation: Enter the hour the facility is expected to open and close under routine operation.  Circle AM or PM as appropriate.

Name of Legal Operator or Operating Corporation (Person in Charge): Enter name of the legal entity that operates the facility.  If the
facility is operated by a corporation, enter the name of the operating corporation and the name of the person in charge of the day to day
operation.  Provide the name(s) of the corporate officers/partners in Section F.

Permanent Address of Operator and Telephone Number: Enter the mailing address including street, city, state and zip code where the
legal operator wants to receive mailed correspondence.  Enter the telephone and fax number of the legal operator.

Employer Identification/Social Security Number: Enter the Employer Identification or Social Security Number of the operator of the
facility.

Email Address and Fax No.: Enter the email address and fax no. where important health and safety alert messages should be sent
during an emergency.

Name of Owner: Enter the name of the owner of the facility if different from the operator.

Permanent Address of Owner and Telephone Number: Enter the mailing address and telephone number of the owner if different from
the operator.

Check the appropriate type of unit.  If motorized, provide the license plate number.  Provide the name and address of the commissary
where the food is prepared.  Attach a separate list of the types of food(s) and/or beverages to be served.

Attach a list of the number and type of food dispensing machines including the address and telephone number of each site under this
permit.

If a facility is operated by a partnership or corporation, provide the name, title, permanent mailing address and telephone number of all
corporate officers or partners involved in the operation or ownership of the facility.

Provide copies of appropriate forms documenting compliance with the Worker's Compensation Law for (1) both Workers' Compensation
and New York State Disability Insurance coverage, or (2) exemption from coverage.

Provide the signature of the individual operator, a corporate officer or other authorized identified official in Section F. Please print the
name, title and date in the space provided.  Failure to sign the form may delay issuance of your permit to operate. Operation
without a valid permit is a violation of the State Sanitary Code and is punishable by fines.
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2 Year Permit

$450.00
$350.00
$250.00
$150.00

Mobile Food Service Establishment:

$30.00 permit fee + $50.00 for 
first bed, and $25.00 for each 
additional bed.

$30 per machine

PERMIT FEE SCHEDULE
See example below

Temporary Residence
Temporary Residence w/Food Service

Facility Type 1 Year Permit
$150.00
$250.00

$150.00

Campground
Campground w/Food Service
Mobile Home Park

     High Risk

Food Service Establishment:                                             
     Catering

$100.00     Low Risk
Bathing Beach

     Medium Risk
     Low Risk

     High Risk
     Medium Risk

Swimming Pool
$100.00
$100.00

$50.00

$150.00
$250.00

Spa

$150.00
$120.00

Food Service Establishment Re-Inspections $60.00 per occurrence
Chronic 14-1 Violators Food Handler Safety Course $350.00

Temporary Residence w/Food Service, Swimming Pool, and Spa:

$250 for TR w/FSE + $100 for Swimming Pool, + $50 for Spa = $400.00 Total                                                                     
(1 Year Permit)

Migrant Labor Camps $100.00

Example:

Temporary Food Service Establishments - Per Event - $50 if application received at least seven 
days prior to event, $100 if application received less than seven days prior to event, or at event.

Vending Machines

Tanning Facilities

PLEASE NOTE:  Fees for additional operations on permits listed above are $100 each,                                       
w/the exception of a Spa - which is an additional $50.



CREDIT/DEBIT CARD TRANSACTION SLIP 
PLEASE PRINT CLEARLY 

 
TRANSACTION DATE:_____________________________________________ 
BUSINESS NAME:_________________________________________________ 
BUSINESS CITY & STATE:_________________________________________ 
CLIENT NAME :___________________________________________________ 
CLIENT ADDRESS:________________________________________________ 
CLIENT PHONE #:_________________________________________________ 
MC/VISA/DISCOVER:______________________________________________ 
CARDHOLDER #:__________________________________________________ 
EXPIRATION DATE:_______________________________________________ 
SECURITY CODE:_________________________________________________ 
CARDHOLDER NAME:_____________________________________________ 
CARDHOLDER SIGNATURE:________________________________________ 
TOTAL AMOUNT OF SALE—FEE & 2.5% TRANSACTION FEE:  _________ 
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